The Hale County Commission is the governing body of the county, establishing goals and objectives to direct the county's growth and development, and carries out other responsibilities as set forth by Alabama statutes. Each Commissioner represents one of four districts and is elected within their respective district in the county. The Chairman (Probate Judge) is elected countywide. The Chairman (Probate Judge) serves a six-year term and all Commissioners serve four-year terms of office.  The Commission oversees county operations and enacts ordinances and resolutions to promote the health, safety, and welfare of citizens and businesses in the county, and approves the annual budget and millage rate which funds the operations of the offices and departments under the Commission's jurisdiction.

Commission Meetings

The Commission meets on the second Tuesdays of each month in the courtroom of the Hale County courthouse. If a regular scheduled meeting falls on a holiday, the Commission meets on the next working day following the holiday. The Commission also schedules additional meetings as they deem necessary to handle pertinent County business and in the case of emergencies.  Work session begins at 5:00 PM and the meeting begins at 6:00 PM, unless otherwise announced. Meetings are open to the public.

If you wish to appear before the County Commission to discuss an important matter pertaining to the county, you must notify the Commission Office not later than noon on the Wednesday prior to the Monday meeting. Any backup information and/or exhibits pertaining to the matter you wish to discuss must be delivered to the Commission Office by the same deadline. If you have been scheduled to appear before the Commission, or if you have a matter to be discussed and you would like to have it dismissed from the agenda, please contact the Commission Office prior to the beginning of the meeting.


county commissioner

Arthur L. Crawford



Don Wallace

​District 1


county commissioner

Donald R. Anderson, Jr.

District 2


county commissioner

Joe Lee Hamilton, Jr.

District 3


Patti Rhodes

Patti Rhodes

​District 4

Contact Information

1001 Main Street, Suite 396
PO Box 396
Greensboro AL 36744
Phone: 334-624-4257
Fax: 334-624-1715
Hours: M-F 8:00 am - 4:30 pm